on the other side

I have a few British blogs that I love to visit. There is a certain something about them at this time of year, something I’m going to call green. They’ve got everything from grass to daffodils! The month of March, from where I sit, looks very similar to the months of November, December, January and February. There is green, but somehow the evergreen that I’ve got is a little different from fresh, newly popping out of the ground green.

There are ways to get around the lack of green, though. For example, it helps if you don’t look out the window. And own a green rug, and a couple of pieces of art in a large green landscape theme. Knit with green wool on small needles, so it takes longer. Dry dishes with green dish towels, and eat lots and lots of broccoli and spinach salad. I haven’t started drinking green smoothies, but with spring still officially 17 days away, I just might yet.

Meanwhile, I’d like to come in from walking the dog without cold hives on my face; I’d like to leave the house without seventeen layers on, and I’d like to wake up to -2°C instead of -32°C. I’m pretty sure I’d be happy not to hear the term “polar vortex” again until next winter. And if everything goes according to the weather forecast for this week, I just might get my wishes granted! Frozen fingers and toes crossed!

I’ll just have to get my green fix from all those other lovely blogs; and I sure am glad that I’m knitting another pair of green socks. I’ll pick up some daffodils and tulips from the grocery store, but I’ll wait until Friday, when they won’t freeze on the way home!

20140303-164547.jpg

This entry was posted in home, thinking out loud. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to on the other side

  1. Olallieberry says:

    Oh boy do I hear you! We must have the same weekend weather forecast… +2C for Saturday!!!! Believe and it shall be!

  2. woolythymes says:

    i SOOOO know what you mean……they have stuff BLOOMING in their gardens!!! (i’m settling for grocery store flowers, now, too) jealous jealous jealous….not proud of it, but i am.

  3. Ruth says:

    I hope it warms up for you soon. We’re about to descend into winter, but ours is not half as cold as yours. We don’t get snow and the temperature rarely goes below -5°C at night. It’s not too bad. I’m not looking forward to green – I’m looking forward to the trees changing colour!

  4. rusty duck says:

    I really hope it gets warmer for you soon, at least it’s March and not November?
    We may have green, but it’s still so wet out there I can’t actually do anything with the green, only look at it. But.. we do have some dry days promised and it’s getting warmer here too. Maybe by the end of the week I’ll have dirt under my fingernails again. Yay! Spring is coming to all us northern hemisphere folk (fingers crossed).

Leave a Reply

