orange

I had a older couple come into the garden centre yesterday, looking for advice about annuals.  The husband was very interested in our hanging impatiens bags, and asked his wife what her colour preference would be.  She most decidedly did not want red and white, but was against the idea of an impatiens bag in any event.

He wanted that hanging bag, and he picked orange, “because I used to drive a truck that exact colour,” he told me.  (I told him orange was the hot new colour.  He looked at me funny.)

His wife was still against it, and tried to talk him out of it.  I shook my head, smiled and said, “If a man wants to buy flowers, let him.  If he has an opinion, even better.  My husband will only come to the green house twice a year…once in the spring and once at Christmas.  You’re lucky that he actually enjoys coming here!”

“Hummph…Men,”  she said; but she smiled.  And off they went to the cash desk, with the hanging bag of orange impatiens.

This entry was posted in at the shop. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to orange

  1. planetcoops says:

    My husband has just started to take a real interest in planting things this year. It makes a lovely change!

Leave a Reply

