the touque a.k.a. the odyssey

Oh, the harried life of a knitter! 

I’ve just started a project that’s been in the works for almost a year and a half now, a project that required excessive amounts of planning and care.  It’s a touque for my husband.

My husband was not an ardent supporter when I first started knitting; as a matter of fact, he asked me not to start because he was sure it would end in disaster.  But after many, many small, successful projects, he realized that I was pretty good at it, and he started to actively challenge me.  Make something really cool.  Something hard.  Something that scares you.  Something you’re sure you can’t do. 

Have any of you heard of Ravelry?  There was a touque on Ravelry, by the name of Inga.  Sweet.  And impossible.  But I tried anyway, justified by the fact that the yarn had been a Christmas present and was, therefore, free and not a waste of money if it ended up in a tangled mess in the garbage.  And success.  I love it, I wear it, I look forward to winter.  That sweet man of mine was also impressed.  Shocked, perhaps, but he liked it, a lot.  Now, he declared, now that I have shown sufficient talent and skill in the knitting department, now I must make him one, too.  (I know.)

Here comes the challenge.  First of all, the touque has to fit his head, so I have to find a pattern in a large enough size.  Second, the yarn has to be soft, not at all itchy, and wool.  (Isn’t that enough of a challenge right there?)  Third, it has to be interesting, with some manly colourwork.  Do you understand now why it has taken me over a year to get going on this thing?  The pattern has to match yarn has to match the gauge has to be perfect.   

No pressure, at all.

But I think I’ve got it.  Ravelry to the rescue, once again, but only after months of searching (and a few close calls with viruses when looking elsewhere on the ‘net.)  The Norwegian Star Earflap Hat with modifications, of course, but this designer is brilliant in the fact that she writes up the pattern with multiple gauge, and matches gauge with finished size, which means you can pick any yarn as long as you match your needle to end up with a size you think will fit!!!  Brilliant, I tell you.

Did I mention that it comes in a manly Norwegian Star colourwork pattern, too?  Being knit in black and off-white.  Ooooooooohh!  Ahhhhhh!!

(Pictures soon…)

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the touque a.k.a. the odyssey

  1. Francesca says:

    I’m sure he’s super impressed now!

  2. planetcoops says:

    Oooooooh! Looking forward to the pictures!

  3. del says:

    That hat is gorgeous. Can’t wait to see yours!

Leave a Reply

