cornerview ~ home

Exerpt from “If You’re Not From the Prairie” by David Bouchard

“…My hair’s mostly wind,
My eyes filled with grit
My skin’s white then brown
My lips chapped and split
I’ve lain on the prairie and heard grasses sigh
I’ve stared at the vast open bowl of the sky
I’ve seen all the castles and faces in clouds
My home is the prairie and for that I am proud…

If You’re not from the Prairie, you can’t know my soul
You don’t know our blizzards; you’ve not fought our cold
You can’t know my mind, nor ever my heart
Unless deep within you there’s somehow a part…
A part of these things that I’ve said that I know,
The wind, sky and earth, the storms and the snow.
Best say that you have – and then we’ll be one,
For we will have shared that same blazing sun.

 

More Corner View Here

This entry was posted in home, thinking out loud. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to cornerview ~ home

  1. woolf says:

    thank you for this poem, and for an image i find enthralling!
    n♥

  2. Heather says:

    That’s a very powerful photo and goes so well with the poem.

  3. flowtops says:

    Love the combo (I did the exact same thing, a poem and a picture).

    Nicki

  4. Debra says:

    bleak and hopeful at the same time. I can’t drive through the prairie without marveling at the grit it took to settle this land.

  5. Beth says:

    Wonderful. The picture is incredible and the poem is packed with imagery. Great share!:>)

  6. this is awesome . both photo & words. it makes my eyes wet.

  7. del says:

    Wow, what a picture to go along with the words.

Leave a Reply

