inspirational

Part two of the Little Elf That Could story is that Elena, of course, wanted to knit Christmas decorations for all the ladies of the family.  Could I please find her a pattern (not too hard, and quick) so that she could knit something to give just from herself?

Oh, boy.  No ideas.  Not one. 

In the meantime, I got an email from the library.  We had taken out many, many books and unfortunately returned them one week late.  The library has an odd (if you ask me) policy about fines; if you have a fine over $25, (which we did, by 46 cents), and if the fine is not paid within two weeks of recieving notice of said fine, it will be sent to a collection agency.  (For serious, I was mad for 13 days after I read that email.)

So, tonight, I went pay my fine; but here’s the thing.  The young lady at the desk was very nice, and she agreed with me, the policy was a bit extreme and I could email a comment in to the library if I was so inclined.  I paid my fine, and, inspite of my intentions to march out of the library in a huff, I started to browse.  I headed straight for the knitting section, because here’s the other thing.  I…LOVE…the library.  I always have, ever since third grade when the school librarian (Mrs. Shilling) wheeled herself over to the children’s literature section of the library and showed me The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. 

And off I went to the knitting section (which is right beside the cartoon book section, which is what got us into this trouble in the first place) and there was The Knitter’s Year by Debbie Bliss, which I hadn’t seen at our library before…and lo and behold…the knitted ornament that I had been searching for.  If I didn’t know better, I’d say that the Christmas spirit is out to get me.  My Little Elf That Could is, of course, thrilled.

And if that wasn’t enough inspiration, enter…the almonds.

I made kransekage for my birthday party last weekend, and once again am amazed at how simple and fun the recipe is to make.  So, I’m going to make a nice big one to donate for the auction table at the Danish Christmas dinner.  Elena’s not the only one who gets to wear the elf hat in this family!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to inspirational

  1. Victoria says:

    You really need to check our Ravelry if you haven’t yet! There is tons of free stuff including ornaments.

  2. del says:

    Wow, that library policy IS harsh. But like you, I love the place, fines or not :-)

  3. planetcoops says:

    How funny! I just bought The Knitter’s Year a few days ago, and was chatting to come friends about how they just didn’t have books like that in the library! You lucky thing!

Leave a Reply

