i am a liar

No baking got done yesterday.  None.  No wrapping, either.  In fact, I have no idea what got done yesterday.  I have a vague recollection of doing some kit organizing, and some data entry for that sweet man of mine; and supper, I know I made supper.  (I did some knitting, too — I think I was rebelling!)  And I read more of our advent book “The Christmas Mystery” by Jostein Gaarder, because we are behind in our days, and need to catch up. 

And in the spirit of catching up, here are the latest and greatest knitting installments.  Completed in November.  I know.

It was a beautiful morning, and what could be better than teal wool socks and snow?  Shipping them off to Texas the next day! 

The toes and heels are knitted in a different yarn; purchased because I was so worried about having enough of the main.  It was fine, of course, with leftovers.  The pattern is Little Child’s Sock (Knitting Vintage Socks, Nancy Bush). 

Here is a touque that got plenty of modifications along the way, but managed to turn out alright.  Much too big for me, I sent it along to the silent auction at my mother-in-law’s UCW Christmas dinner.  My sister-in-law got it for a steal at $10. 

There is also a cosy sweater in the works, a pair of socks, and some Christmas tree ornaments on the needles.  I stayed up until 1:am a few weeks ago, trying to work out the mods for Child’s First Sock pattern.  (Same book, people; same book.)  The socks are for the smallest feet in our family, and although the pattern is written for a 6 1/2 to 7 1/2 foot, the accompanying ankle is only 6 1/2 inches around (compared to my beefy 8 1/2 inches).  Modifications make me extremely nervous.  Extremely.

However, unlike the socks, the wrapping and the gingerbread houses do have a deadline, so that’s where I’m headed now.  Really.

 

This entry was posted in home, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i am a liar

  1. planetcoops says:

    Oooh, they’re the socks I’m making! They do look lovely in teal! Love the hat too Both perfect for snowy days..

    • Laura says:

      Yes, my niece specifically requested teal, but it’s a hard colour to find in sock yarn. The yarn I found was technically self-patterning, and I didn’t like how it knit up, so I decided to use that sock pattern to distract from the way the yarn would knit up. I really did like the end result. Of course, they always look much better on feet!

  2. del says:

    The socks and the hat came out great! Don’t worry if you’re behind — you’re in good company.

Leave a Reply

