new star, new memories

So, yes, the dog ate the Christmas star.  I’ll admit that I almost cried.  These sort of things have been known to temporarily shatter my Christmas calm, because I really enjoy the memories that come out with the traditions every year.  The very first thing we put on the top of our Christmas tree 14 years ago was a picture of Sonja on Santa’s lap.  I figured that was close enough to an angel to please tradition.  It continued until 2007 and we were sent a 3-D star Julekort from our cousins in Denmark.  That topped the tree until this year. 

I was in a bit of a dilemma.  I mean, sure, I could probably pick up a star for the top of the tree at any store, but it would just be a replacement and not have any significant anything to thrill me when I put it on the tree.  I was sure that every time I saw it, I would think, “Thanks, dog, for eating the other star.  Not.”

I had to take a trip back to MCC to pick up more kit bags, and since they run Ten Thousand Villages, I thought I would just do a quick browse while right there.  And yes, they had a tree star, a tin one made in India, and it is now on the top of the tree.  And every time I see it, I will remember the year that Elena decided to go all Christmas elf on me, and I will remember the MCC kit Christmas. 

That’s more than memorable enough for me!

This entry was posted in city life, dog, home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to new star, new memories

  1. Francesca says:

    it’s a perfect new memory!

  2. del says:

    Your decorations are so pretty. I love the stories behind them.

    The dog ate the star, huh? Goodness, I know how I’d feel if mine ate ours!

Leave a Reply

