not a fail, exactly

Avert your eyes, my dear husband.  It’s a post about knitting.

What I really need right now is some answers.  Knitting answers, but I’m pretty sure I’m not going to get any.  So here’s the sweater story.

 Mothed is a pattern on Ravelry.  I was looking for a simple, drapey pullover and decided to knit this one.  I thought I’d use a less expensive yarn to knit up a practice sweater to see if I’d like the fit.  Even though I had gauge, knit my size and tried it on a few times while knitting it; after weaving in the ends and washing it, it grew about 2 sizes.  It’s now large, quite large, and that’s exactly what it looks like…a really large sweater with a huge boat neck.  It’ll be fine (great, even) as a cozy sweater (over a t-shirt) for work.  But as a pre-knit to see if I would like the finished style/sizing/fit…all I can say is that all yarns are not created equal, and I have no idea how it will knit up with my expensive yarn.  No idea at all.

I’ve knit lots of other things that turned out how I had planned, though.  Socks and touques and cowls and even that sweater for Elena.  So…

There’s the thing about yarn, but there’s also that thing about pattern.  I’m currently battling a vintage sweater pattern that has a head-and-neck opening of 16 inches.  Just for reference, my head is approximately 22 inches.  The sweater will be OK, due to some rather un-fancy un-knitting on my part, but of course I’d much rather the sweater have been great.  I’m learning the hard way that, just like recipes, there are bad patterns out there. 

I admit to being frustrated at this point.  However, there is only one thing to do.  Knit.  Knit more.

This entry was posted in knitting, thinking out loud. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to not a fail, exactly

  1. planetcoops says:

    Oh what a shame! Would a test square, washed, give you a clue to stretchage without having to knit a whole jumper?
    I once had a jumper for Mr 4 that wouldn’t go over his head. The problem is, you have to try them out, or know someone else who has, to find out.

    • Laura says:

      Yes, I’ve heard very good things about knitting and prewashing a swatch…and I think now I know why! (I follow the Yarn Harlot’s blog. She’s great.) I am starting to think another problem is that I am between sizes, and I should knit the size down, rather than the size up. If it’s too small, I can always give it to my daughter, right? (Provided, of course, that I did knit something suitably “cool.”)

  2. del says:

    Do I know the feeling! Sorry that happened. Was it alpaca yarn or something else that just loses it when water hits it?

Leave a Reply

