having disappeared

We have a bit of a strange arrangement, my husband and I. I could neglect housework if I had a blog post to show for it at the end of the day. But somehow, a week has gone by, and I still have a messy house and no blog post.

I have a swatch for a sweater, one almost finished mitten, five packages of tea, and the completed paperwork for the taxes. I’ve also been working at the garden centre, and figuring out my iPad the rest of the time.

I also have a funny story…so here’s the blog post.

20120330-204212.jpg

Yesterday, I took Sonja to the YMCA for her fitness orientation. She wanted to be able to use the gym equipment at the “Y”, and an orientation is required if you are under the age of eighteen. So, while she was touring the gym and the equipment, I sat in the lobby and knit. On those mitts.

There I was, knitting along, five needles going, two colours of yarn (one carried in each hand), finished the Estonian braid and now following a straightforward but complicated chart for the colourwork. Busily concentrating, when a lady stops beside me to watch for a moment.

“Oh my,” she says, “I could never do that!”

She pauses for a moment, then finishes her thought, “It looks so boring!”

This entry was posted in home, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to having disappeared

  1. planetcoops says:

    And I’d love to be able to do that. The results look fantastic!

  2. del says:

    And I forgot to say, those mittens look great…that lady doesn’t know what she’s missing.

  3. del says:

    OMGosh. NOT what I expected at all. This is why I rarely knit in public!

  4. Francesca says:

    Some people can be really callous – glad you took it the funny way!

  5. Whoa! I didn’t see that comment coming! The mittens look great. Love the colors.

Leave a Reply

