corner view ~ jewelry

20121016-204508.jpg

My bundle of rings. On my left hand, stacked on my ring finger. The two plain bands are, of course, my wedding rings; but the leaf one, well, it’s a relative newcomer. Sitting, as it does, sandwiched in between the two wedding rings, it has taken the place of my original engagement ring.

The engagement ring, at the time, had been the reaction to the “ye gods, she’s pregnant!” The order of things somewhat awry, but in the long run, a negligible detail.

One day, not so very long ago, I tentatively asked my husband if I could get a new “engagement” ring. I explained: we’re at a different stage of our lives. The original ring had represented a promise. I need a new ring, one that represents an intertwining and a growth and a love. Me for you, and you for me. Something to represent a promise kept and cherished.

(I won’t divulge his very unromantic response!)

So I did a bit of searching, and lo and behold! How do I describe it?

Perfect.

Sharing Corner View today. A Wednesday tradition that I have been neglectful of, but enjoy participating in!

This entry was posted in thinking out loud. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to corner view ~ jewelry

  1. knitsofacto says:

    Oh my, that’s beautiful!

    I ditched my engagement ring in favour of an eternity ring, but mine is a very traditional gold affair with a row of diamonds. I’d love something like yours, all leafy and perennial :)

  2. Francesca says:

    The look so nice together! I can just imagine your husband’s response – why would that be?! :)

  3. Elsa says:

    This ring is a beautiful symbol. I think women are more attached to symbols than men, right? ;)

  4. Heather says:

    I love that – the intertwining and now at a different stage. I dare say you are a romantic, young lady :-)

  5. bonnie says:

    this is wonderful ! a wonderful ring. a wonderful sentiment. and i had a good giggle about you not divulging his unromantic response … i’m sure we all can imagine it ! :)

  6. woolf says:

    why yes, and the arts’n’crafts feel adding to that effect.
    happy anniversary of the growing and loving!
    n♥

  7. Lady O says:

    Tomorrow is my 10 year wedding anniversary, I just love the sentiment in your post. A beautiful ring.

Leave a Reply

