local fun (aka the Turkey Shoot)

I would like to preface this post by saying how much I love shooting a gun. Just to get that out of the way, because the Turkey Shoot fundraiser that our church hosted at a local farm was just great. Belonging to a small, rural congregation as we do, the concept of paying to shoot a target and win prizes is not unheard of. In fact, they used to offer it at the local fair. At least, that’s what I was told by one great-grandmother who came out for the fun. (Did she take a few shots at the target? Yes. Is she 90 years old? Yes.)

20121022-134619.jpg

We were under the direct supervision of our fully licensed gun owners, who patiently and helpfully explained how to shoot a .22 rifle. We took our practice shots, and then started the competition.

20121022-140326.jpg

See what a good shot my little girl is? Takes after her mommy…I won second place! (I haven’t held a gun in 20 years!). Or maybe she takes after her Daddy…he won the amateur round skeet shooting. I now have a turkey in my freezer!

20121022-141104.jpg

My mother-in-law bought a target, but wanted one of the grandkids to take her turn. They would have none of it, and insisted that she shoot it herself. When she realized that all of her friends were taking their own turn at the .22, well, OK. She shot. But she’s keeping her target again for next year, she says. Because she missed it completely, and no sense having to pay for a perfectly good target next year!

20121022-142516.jpg

This entry was posted in new experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to local fun (aka the Turkey Shoot)

  1. Francesca says:

    I tried it once, and it’s most definitely not for me.

  2. knitsofacto says:

    That looks like fun! I’ve never shot with a gun, but I used to be pretty nifty with a bow and arrow!

  3. Olallieberry says:

    Good for you! And good for great grandma! Looks like you all had a wonderful day, and the perfect weather for it too :D

Leave a Reply

