happiness is an Icelandic sweater

20130122-143438.jpg

I love it! (I also love Instagram for the blurry edges!)

The pattern is from Lopi 28 knitting book. I can’t tell you how much I like knitting the colourwork portion of Icelandic sweaters. The stitch repeat on each row is simple and repetitive; so easy to relax into, and so easy to keep track of the patterning! The sweater (while itchy, I won’t lie) is very comfortable to wear; warm, but light. I love everything about it…the length, the contrasting colours, the shape, and the modified sleeves (long sleeves can just be too much, you know?) It’s just so nice. So very, very nice.

This entry was posted in home, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to happiness is an Icelandic sweater

  1. susieq71 says:

    Laura, that is just such a pretty and elegant sweater! I love the black and white contrast. And – naturally – the model makes it look even more stunning! :)
    By the way, it still makes me smile to see your poster in the background… ;)

    ~ Susanne

    • Laura says:

      Thanks Susanne! That sweater has been perfect for when it has been so cold here. Don’t ask me why, but it still makes me smile (and all hygge-ly inside!) to realize that this little Ukrainian had to marry a Dane to find my passion for Icelandic sweaters (and all things Scandinavian!)

  2. knitsofacto says:

    It’s lovely, you look fabulous :)

    Thank you so much for the get well wishes, very much appreciated :D

  3. janet clare says:

    great jumper! I was going to say very Sarah Lund, but yours is much much nicer
    http://www.sarahlundsweater.com/

  4. planetcoops says:

    That’s a great sweater!

  5. Francesca says:

    really lovely, and lovely photo of you!

  6. anastasiamw says:

    That’s just gorgeous! I love Icelandic design.

Leave a Reply

