just keep going at it

Some people like beach holidays. Not our family. Gotta be on the go every day, all day. See more, do more; that’s just the way we like it.

Our vacations are planned well in advance, and one of the things we knew that we wanted to do while in Québec was to visit a national park, and go for a hike. Off we went to the parc national des hautes gorges and of course we picked one of the more challenging hikes. Of course, because we’re fun like that. And durable. We had never been on a semi-vertical hike before, and had trouble judging just how far we had gone on the 5 kilometer (round trip) route. We had seen the marker for the first kilometer, but as time and distance passed, we couldn’t seem to locate the second kilometer marker.

Verbal repartee ensued:
Of course we’ve passed the marker.
No, I don’t think so.
Believe me, I know how far two kilometers is, and we’ve already gone that far.
Well, we would have seen the marker.
Didn’t we see the marker?
No, that was the 1 kilometer marker.
I’m sure we’ve gone two kilometers.
(By this time, we are out of water, and the legs are a wee bit shaky.)
I’m not going back down until I see the 2 kilometer marker.
Ok, is everybody good with that?
(More verbal repartee ensued…)

You’re really taking a picture of the marker?
Yes!!!

We made it to the marker, and we would have gone that extra half kilometer to the top, but that would have turned into another three kilometers back down. There was a rest station at the top, and some amazing views (we heard) but no available drinking water (de l’eau pas potable), so we headed back down. Good decision, because if we thought our legs were already a bit shaky, we discovered that descending was an entirely new effort from ascending! It was a beautiful hike, and well worth the adventure. And we were very happy to get back to the base to fill our water bottles with some “l’eau potable”!

20130221-120742.jpg

This entry was posted in new experiences, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to just keep going at it

  1. rusty duck says:

    This reminds me so much of a 9km walk we did in Crete. I thought it would be a doddle, but by 2 km I was really struggling. I was totally unfit and unprepared. And had to keep going because the ride back to the hotel was at the end of the route!

    -30? I will never complain about the cold again. We were once on a plane that had to make an emergency landing in Winnipeg. I’ve never seen so much snow in my life! My one and only experience of Canada, but I really would like to come back and see it properly.

  2. knitsofacto says:

    Love the comment about taking a picture of the marker … my lot have said they’re going to refuse to go out with me and my camera because of all the odd things I photograph!

Leave a Reply

