in dutiful documentation

20130405-124619.jpg

And voilà, the Hazelhurst!

I used to be the type of knitter that finished a project before starting another one. I sort of lost that along the way, and the time between start and finish of certain projects was getting longer and longer. The number of unfinished projects stashed in bags behind the couch was starting to interfere with how close you could put the couch against the wall. (I’m kidding about the last part, really.)

It wasn’t that they were too hard or that I had lost the pattern or that I didn’t like them anymore; it was more along the lines having the uninterrupted time to follow the pattern, good light to work by, and to be able to do it guilt-free.

The guilt is the funny part…I would feel bad about not having the dishes done or the bathrooms scrubbed or the floor washed, and so I would not knit, get distracted…and then not be in the mood later, wanting to spend time in the basement (media room) with the husband (no good knitting light down there!) or having to help the kids with homework, or just being out and about in the evening.

So, in order to be able to push the couch back against the wall, deadlines were given to each abandoned project. The mitts were done, there was a pair of hideous green socks done, and now, the Hazelhurst scarf that Sonja wore to school two days in a row. Unbelievably, there are only two knitting bags left behind the couch; one contains a knee-high folk dance sock that was started in January (of 2012…shhh…) and the other, a lace alpaca scarf.

20130405-140338.jpg

I did sneak in a quick “instant gratification” doll sweater for my niece, along with a pair of booties. I had to, after all that sock yarn! Ironically, of course, those folk socks would be the next project that needs to be finished, at least by July so that I can wear them in August with the costume…

20130405-140928.jpg

…and the there was that bird’s nest of sock yarn that I was going to do something about…right after I swatch with some DK weight, just in case I find a sweater pattern that I like. Because you know, I’ve got all that space behind the couch now…

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to in dutiful documentation

  1. Francesca says:

    really, really pretty! it looks like (to the beginner eyes) a motif scarf that needs to be worn right and wrong sides showing. lovely.

  2. knitsofacto says:

    Or even Hazelhurst … oops!

  3. knitsofacto says:

    Unused yarn/project storage space must quickly be refilled, it’s practically a legal requirement ;)

    Gorgeous Hazlehurst :)

  4. planetcoops says:

    I’m a great believer in extra wall insulation behind the couch!
    It does look gorgeous – very deserving of two days in a row wear.
    And, ah guilt, my old friend!

Leave a Reply

