intuition

I am not an intuitive knitter.

I’ve been thinking a bit about a post that Annie at Knitsofacto wrote recently. I was thinking about it, and while happy to have a hobby that I enjoy very much, I also realized that I am happy to be getting better at it.

I’ve always had the habit of writing detailed notes about what I’m knitting, in a notebook or on scrap paper. I’ll keep track of what row I’m on, and if there is any shaping or interesting stitches, I’ve even been known to write out the pattern long hand, row for row, then putting a tick mark beside each row as I’ve finished knitting it. Fewer mistakes that way, and when I would go back to the project, I always knew exactly where I was, and where I had left off.

When it came to pattern directions, my philosophy was “the more, the merrier.”

I’ve also had the habit of writing the start date on the pattern notes; why, I am not sure, because if the (for example) folk socks that were started on January 12, 2012 get abandoned for a year (or so), it’s not a really good measure of the time it took to knit them, however, I am sure I did not intend to abandon them in the first place. It’s funny how perspective can change over the course of a year. It’s also interesting that when knitting is a hobby instead of the only means to clothe yourself, the motivation changes. But the goal is to finish this sock by the end of April, so…

I began the decrease portion of the sock, the part just below the calf, and I realized that Nancy Bush had taken the time to write out each line of a six line pattern portion. Very nice of her, and exactly what I needed at the time, if my extra notes are any indication. I had practically written out the instructions all over again, just to be able to tick each line. But, reading over the instructions again, I now would have been able to understand (and follow) the pattern perfectly if all she had written would have been:

Decrease one stitch on each side of pattern every six rows, maintaining seed stitch pattern.

That’s a considerable difference from having to write out each of the six lines of that portion of the pattern. That would also explain why I have avoided Norwegian patterns. Have you ever tried to read through a DROPS pattern? Row by row it ain’t, and I hereby declare myself to be a knitting chicken.

But not for long.

This is the year that I am going to take on three Norwegian patterns. I’ve got them all picked out. Socks (Peer Gynt), sweater (SandnesGarn) and another, smaller sweater (DROPS, of course!) In the case of the socks, I’ve got the yarn waiting, and I just might be able to make the smaller sweater out of stash yarn.

Of course, to maintain sanity, I’ll just have to make something from Brooklyn Tweed. And, there’s always the little projects too, right? It’s going to be an interesting year for knitting!

20130412-093005.jpg

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to intuition

  1. planetcoops says:

    Isn’t it nice to have such a great hobby? I have to say, the very words ‘Norwegian pattern’ would terrify me!

  2. knitsofacto says:

    It’s been like learning to read isn’t it, it’s just so liberating when it all ‘clicks’. Can’t wait to see your finished projects :D

Leave a Reply

