lost and found

I have a to do list as long as my arm (I think I’ve gotten it up to 17 “things” or so) and I’ve probably forgotten a few, and the dog is inquiring about a walk. By enquiring, I mean desperately whining at the garage door, and I think I’m going to have to oblige him.

The vicious, impossible cold of the last few days is being blown away, quite literally, by the south wind. Feeling very blessed for the insulated garage when the wake up temperature was hovering around -35°C. It amazes me that vehicles still drive and everything is business as usual, even in temperatures like that. We drove off to church, had our Christmas concert rehearsal, and when we walked out of the church, the temperature hadn’t budged. It takes about half an hour to get home, and Sonja drove (she needs the practice, once again, on winter roads), but we took a quick stop in at one of the garden centres along the way.

Normally, I wouldn’t, (seeing as how I work at a one it’s kind of overkill) but St. Mary’s garden centre is a treat this time of year. They have a whole section of tropicals, faerie gardens, water gardens, and the giftware is over the top beautiful. In the live Christmas tree section, they had a sweet farm and natural nativity set up with hay bales and dried grasses. The girls and I sipped cider and snacked on popcorn as I admired the variety of outdoor greenery for wreaths and center pieces. And I found exactly what I was looking for: ornament hooks, a stainless steel trowel, and fluffy dish towels. (The dish towels were an unexpected bonus. I seem to have misplaced most of mine in the move…along with the extra trowel and ornament hooks…)

The ornament hooks were put to immediate use upon our return home (tree decorating having stalled without them) but now I can’t find the Star Wars ornaments. They are in the basement somewhere, but it’s bothering me…especially as I thought I had located all the Christmas boxes…but they are probably hiding with the hooks and who knows what else. But we have the star, thank goodness!

Happily, the Christmas movies were found in a box that was sitting right at the bottom of the stairs. That was such a relief, to find them before the season is over. We always watch The Grinch and the Muppets Family Christmas at least half a dozen times before Christmas Eve. I love wrapping gifts while watching Christmas movies, and at least I have the movies; even if I haven’t started my shopping yet! That will happen sometime this week, obviously. I’m not worried; I’m not even stressed over it. I am planning on a nice day, out at some interesting shops, and I’m going to wander, find some lovely stuff, and enjoy myself. It’s just a different Christmas this year, and if anything, an easier one, because I can only do what I can do; like sweet little chocolate mice, and other, knitted gifts promised for after Christmas!

Here’s a picture of the dog. This is what I wish he wanted to do right now!

20131216-161801.jpg

This entry was posted in home, thinking out loud. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

