good day, again

I went to the yarn store today with my friend. I went to help her pick yarn for her daughter to knit, and not only did we have success with the half-price yarn table, they were in the most outlandish of colours that she knew her daughter would love.

I also went, because I needed needles for a project that I didn’t want to start. The needles were to go with yarn that I had swatched for to match this particular project, a cozy sweater that at one point I had wanted to knit very badly. Cardigans, oversize, squooshy cardigans, are the best. Knitting them in a sport/almost fingering weight yarn on 3.25 mm needles? I’ll let you know…

While I was there, I decided to pick up a ball of yarn so Elena could start another project. I almost wasn’t going to, because Elena has been managing to knit through my scrap bin with good success. But then I saw a ball of yarn in a sweet variegated colourway, red and orange, pink with some brown. The right gauge for the pattern that I had already printed out (Barley hat by Tin Can Knits) and an almost perfect match for her scarf that she wears to school. That scarf is my very first knit; that seven-foot-long garter stitch scarf, done in a now discontinued Patons Classic Wool colour of red, pink, orange and brown. I never thought I’d see that colour again, and there it was, in Manos del Uruguay! Had to have it.

We have knitting group after Scandinavian dance on some Saturdays, so I wound the ball, cast on for her, and knit the first row of rib. She continued, and her stitches are so beautifully even, I wouldn’t be able to tell you that it’s not me knitting. She says that it’s because of the lovely yarn.

I didn’t think I had gotten much knitting done this year, but a look through the blog says that most of it was done in the beginning of the year, before we started the house. Makes sense. I did get two pairs of socks finished this week, and knit an Antler touque (also by Tin Can Knits) that turned out too small for an adult head. The projects for this year? Nothing that requires new yarn, anyway…I’ve got enough in the “new” yarn bin for Walpole by Hannah Fettig, two pairs of regular socks, Chadd’s ski socks, a belated Icelandic sweater…enough to make a good start into 2014, at any rate. One more pair of socks on the needles right now, and Elena’s are on her feet, but here’s the snapshot of the two just finished:

20140118-235917.jpg

And here’s a lovely shot of me in NYC, ages and ages ago, when I had just started knitting; cute, no?

20140119-000555.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to good day, again

  1. woolythymes says:

    yes, VERY cute photo! (Freddy and I both thank you for popping in my blog space–yes, you do need another bassett someday!)

  2. Francesca says:

    i’m making a sweater for my sister on 3.5 needles and, well, it’s taking forever, or so it seems because after the initial fun lacy neckline, it’s all stockinette …
    love the photo of you Laura!

  3. The Walpole sweater looks beautiful! If you can make it through the fingering/smaller needle size, something tells me this will be a sweater you will cherish!

    Lovely progress on knits for the year. I’m jealous of Elena and her perfect stitches. I remember my grandma trying to teach me how to knit at that age. I could never get the tension right… which is why I gave up knitting until just a year or so ago. Go Elena!!

  4. planetcoops says:

    That’s brave, a cardigan in such fine yarn!

Leave a Reply

