glorious gardens

This is a Manitoba summer, and this was a nice way to appreciate it; the Master Gardener Garden Tour.  Only the second year running, I was pleasantly surprised at the diversity and aspects of garden. 

20140725-105432-39272649.jpg

20140725-105435-39275762.jpg

You know the feeling, where the garden you have, or hope to have, cannot possibly live up to the idea of the perfect garden.  As much as you try, or hope, there is so many variables to gardening.  Something does not survive the winter, or another plant is not performing the way it was advertised on the tag.  Or, one plant “takes off” and the others are struggling.  So frustrating.  This inevitably makes me feel like I haven’t lived up to the standard that I have set for my garden.

20140725-105430-39270751.jpg

This garden tour, which took place in my city, was a real revelation.  I came to the realization that my garden, my simple garden at my old house, was a treat.  It was pretty and colourful, and interesting in all seasons.  It may have been plagued with powdery mildew from time to time, and the miniature delphiniums did not stand up straight, but it the Thunderchild crabapple bloomed magnificently in May, and the raised bed was full of peonies in June.  There was one year where the roses made a magnificent show, even as the leaves on the Hope for Humanity rose turned to lace from tiny green worms.  The year the orange and the purple Echinacea bloomed in tandem was the year that I realized orange and purple are glorious together.  (The next year, the orange died, but that’s gardening for you.) 

20140725-105434-39274267.jpg

20140725-105440-39280781.jpg

This garden tour made me realize that gardening is a brilliant work in progress that is therapeutic and beautiful, all at the same time.  Gardening is not perfection, it is flashes of seasonal brilliance.  It is a labour of love, and knowledge, and enjoyment (even as we hope for a stellar performance…bloom, dammit, bloom!) 

In the garden, I have (inadvertently) planted the invasive…and the prone to aphids…and at times the absolutely clueless as to what it actually was.  Gardening has always been fun. It’s been such a learning experience, and sometimes (most times) I can take absolutely no credit for it. 

I just love it. 

20140725-105437-39277340.jpg

20140725-105439-39279050.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to glorious gardens

  1. Annie says:

    Just (immensely enjoying) catching up with you after my blog break and here you are with a new hound! What joy. Having been involved in hound rescue for years I know it will take a while to see Loki truly relax into family life, but you don’t need me to tell you that every step along the way will be worth it.

    I do agree with what you say here about gardening and gardens, so true.

  2. rusty duck says:

    This is so very true. It’s the excitement of planning for next year and seeing if it really will all come to fruition this time that keeps it alive for me.

Leave a Reply

