nap-time

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yawn!

I wish there was a way to catch up on all the sleep I lose over the summer. I wish that I could have a set nap-time, just for January and February, the cold, slow times of the year. Snuggling with a puppy is so truly decadent, and so very warm. But the timing always seems to be a bit off, these days.

Instead of the nap, I finished a book and a scarf yesterday; the scarf had been a made up pattern that loosely followed the Baktus scarf.  I made it out of a left-over slubby grey silk, and yellow and rust wool.  Stripes and stitch patterning, and I learned a few things just by playing.  Even though the silk and the wool were the same weight, they did knit up differently.  The silk was loose and irregular, the wool crisp, tight and even.  It was even more interesting striping them together.  I am happy with how it turned out.  It’s still drying after its bath.

The book was The Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham. I was surprised by the path of the story, and disappointed. Perhaps it will make a better movie than a book. I picked it up at the library, along with The Art of Fielding (which has me absolutely gripped by the characters), and Ishmael’s Oranges, which I haven’t started yet.

I have to get motivated to do more than read and knit, though…tomorrow?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

