pruned

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tor spirea in spring

Working at a garden centre, I am always asked if pruning of shrubs should be done in the spring or fall. I never, ever prune in the fall, because with our winters, there will always be die-back over the winter. It’s easier to see what will come back in the spring.

Looking into the back yard this morning, I realized that my rose bush had suddenly, mysteriously lost half its height, as had the Nanking cherry, and the spireas.

Tell-tale bunny footprints revealed that I have a furry friend who didn’t agree with my pruning practices, and is offering his assistance, whether I want it or not. I’m going to have to block his access to the yard, pronto, or find a way to make some rabbit stew!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to pruned

  1. Francesca says:

    i vote for rabbit stew :)

Leave a Reply

